Workplace accidents remain a significant issue in our region. If you or your loved one was hurt on the job, it is crucial that you know the steps to take to secure the full available financial support. You must initiate your claim before the relevant statute of limitations runs out. In this article, our Philadelphia workplace injury lawyer provides a comprehensive overview of the most important things you should know about statute of limitations for work injuries in Pennsylvania.
Most Pennsylvania Workers are Covered By Workers’ Compensation Insurance
You are likely covered by workers’ compensation insurance. As explained by the Pennsylvania Department of Labor and Industry, “workers’ compensation coverage is mandatory for most employers under Pennsylvania law.” Through a workers’ comp claim, a person who was hurt on the job has the right to seek no-fault benefits to cover their medical costs and provide some income replacement. Here is an overview of key deadlines that apply to the workers’ comp process:
- Notify Your Employer (21 Days and 120 Days): Workers’ comp regulations put duties on both employers and employees. As an employee covered by workers’ comp, you have a duty to notify your employer of an accident or incident in a timely manner. You should report the matter within 21 days to be eligible to seek full benefits. You have an absolute duty to notify your employer within 120 days.
- Statute of Limitations to File (Three Years): Notifying an employer is not the same thing as filing for workers’ comp benefits. You should file as soon as possible after notifying your employer. There is a three year statute of limitations to file a workers’ compensation claim in Pennsylvania.
You May Have a Third Party Liability Claim Against a Negligent Non-Employer
Workers’ compensation is generally the exclusive remedy that an injured worker has against their own employer. However, workers’ comp does not prevent a person from filing a fault-based personal injury lawsuit against a negligent third party. Examples of third parties that may be negligent include property owners, subcontractors, motorists, and equipment manufacturers. Here is what you need to know about the deadline for a third party liability claim:
- Statute of Limitations for Third Party Liability (Two Years): A third party liability claim in a workplace accident case in Pennsylvania must be filed within two years of the date of the incident. The sooner the claim is initiated, the better position that you will be in to get justice and the full and fair compensation that you deserve.
Consult With a Workplace Accident Lawyer in Philadelphia Today
At the Quinn Law Group, our Philadelphia workplace accident attorney is a skilled, reliable, and experienced advocate for injured workers. If you or your loved one was hurt on the job, we are here to help. Call us now or connect with us online to arrange a free, fully private consultation. With a law office in Philadelphia, we serve communities throughout the area, including in M